Why is it called french kissing?

The french kiss was first known as maraichanage, a term to describe the prolonged, deep, tongue kiss practised by the Maraichins, inhabitants of Brittany, France. It dates from at least the 1920s. It is derived from the idea that the French people are sexually liberated or even promiscuous.