Why don't you wear white after labor day?

It was a fashion rule for many years that white outfits (such as dresses or suits), shoes, or other accessories should only be worn during the summer. The choice of Labor Day as the cutoff was arbitrary. Of course, the rule did not apply to things like dress shirts for men.

---

It's a fashion practice. Many Americans would put away their white clothes on Labor Day and not wear them again until the following May. In the late 19th century white clothing was considered vacation attire or look of leisure.

---

Originally lighter colors were worn to stay cooler during the warmer weather. Also, dark clothing was worn by the middle class and white by the elite to show afflucence. But this does not apply to today's fashion. Actually, winter white is very chic.