How many cups is a half pound?

It depends on what you put into the cup. If you are weighing butter, then one cup equals one-half pound. If it's water, then it's slightly less than a cup. But if it's flour, then one-half pound of flour is almost two cups.

---

While a cup and a half pound both have 8oz, it depends on what you are measuring; here is a list of ingredients that weigh half a pound: uncooked rice, 1.1 cups, flour, 1.9 cups, sugar, 1.3 cups, butter, 1cup, chopped onions, 4.4 cups, fresh mushrooms, 3cups, cheese, 1cup, and dry pasta, 2.3 cups.