Why does e. equals m. c. square?

E equals mc squared means energy equals mass times the speed of light squared. Energy (E) and mass (m) are interchangeable; they are different forms of the same thing. The only reason light moves at the speed it does is because photons, the quantum particles that make up light, have a mass of zero.