How many grizzly bears are left in the wild?

There are currently about 55,000 wild grizzly bears total located throughout North America, most of which live in Alaska. Only about 1,500 grizzlies are left in the lower 48 states of the US. Of these, about 800 live in Montana. About 600 more live in Wyoming, in the Yellowstone-Teton area.