Where did bachata originate?

Bachata is a genre of music that originated in the Dominican Republic in the 20th century.

---

Bachata is a genre of Latin America music that originated in the Dominican Republic in the first half of the 20th century with Indigenous, African and European musical elements. The first recorded compositions of Bachata were done by José Manuel Calderón from the Dominican Republic.