How long do you cook a filet mignon on the barbecue?

It depends on the thickness of the filet. If it is 1 to 1 and 1.5 inches thick, grill it 4 to 5 minutes on each side. If a 2 inch or more filet, grill about 6 minutes, or a little more, on each side. For med-rare the meat needs to be removed from the grill at 125 degrees, 115 degrees for rare.