What is the wedding band?

A wedding ring or wedding band is a finger ring that indicates that its wearer is married. It is usually forged from metal, and traditionally is forged of gold or another precious metal. The earliest examples of wedding rings are from Ancient Egypt.

---

The term wedding band can refer to the ring that a bride and groom exchange at their wedding or a band that plays at a wedding reception. Also, The Wedding Band was the name of a rock wedding band that covered songs typically played at weddings; it shared its guitarist and bassist with Metallica.