What is the root of the new york city marathon?

The route of the New York City marathon goes through all five Burroughs. It begins in Staten Island and turns north through Brooklyn and Queens. Runners then head west across the Queensboro Bridge into Manhattan, up north into the Bronx, and back to Manhattan to finish in Central Park.