How rare is an albino squirrel?

White squirrels are almost always a white version of the grey squirrel. There are a few types of genetic aberrations that cause the white coats. The first is albinism, caused by a mutation on a gene that codes for pigmentation. Albino squirrels are rare. About 1 in 100,000 squirrels are albino.