Who is the outlander?

In the book and TV series, Outlander follows the story of Claire Randall, a married combat nurse from 1945 who is mysteriously swept back in time to 1743, where she is immediately thrown into an unknown world where her life is threatened. Clare is the Outlander or non-Scotsperson.