What is the percentage of salt in sea water?

On average, seawater in the world's oceans has a salinity of approximately 3.5%, or 35 parts per thousand. This means that for every 1 liter (1000 ml) of seawater there are 35 grams of salts (mostly, but not entirely, sodium chloride) dissolved in it.