How are bouncy balls made?

Store-bought bouncy balls are made of rubber, a material that is made up of polymers. When the bouncy ball is stretched, these polymer chains uncoil and straighten. When your ball bounces, it is squishing when it hits the ground, then un-squishing as it bounces back up.