Why is a rabbit not a rodent?

Rabbits do not belong to the Rodentia order, they are lagomorphs (Lagomorpha order). This is because a rabbit has four incisors in the upper jaw (including two non-functional teeth), while rodents only have two. Both rabbits and rodents each have two lower incisors.