What do you put in bread?

French bread - at its simplest - is just flour, water, salt and yeast. In some recipes, a little sugar may be added to help the crust brown. Other types of bread may include milk, whole grains and exotic flours such as rye or oat flour. Some recipes include nuts, fruit, herbs or seeds.