Where does licorice come from?

Native to southern Europe, licorice is mainly cultivated around the Mediterranean and in parts of the United States. An effective mask for the taste of medicines, licorice is an ingredient in cough lozenges, syrups, and elixirs. It is a flavouring agent in candies