Can you use olive oil in a cake?

Can You Use Olive Oil in a Cake Recipe? Yes. Considering all its savory applications, it can be hard to think of olive oil as having a place in baking. Olive oil can be used in place of traditional cooking oils—just swap out the same amount of vegetable or canola oil for extra virgin olive oil.