Is a sloth a monkey?

No. Both monkeys and sloths are placental mammals, but their respective groups are not terribly closely related. Monkeys are primates, whereas sloths are xenarthrans.

---

No. Sloths are considered part of the family Xenartha, which also includes anteaters and armadillos.