How did dinosaurs get their names?

The name "dinosaur" comes from the Greek deinos, which means great, terrible, awesome, or mighty, & the word sauros, which means lizard or reptile. The scientific names of animals, including dinosaurs, comes from either the name of the scientist who discovered them or a description of the animal.