Why is it called district of columbia?

According to Wikipedia, in 1791, the federal district was named Columbia, the feminine form of Columbus. At the time, Columbus was a poetic name for the United States, commonly in use at that time.

---

Columbia was a patriotic reference to the American colonies during the American Revolution. Inspired by this popular nickname, the commissioners responsible for creating the United States capital named the land in which the city was being built the Territory of Columbia.

---

On September 9, 1791, the three commissioners overseeing the capital's construction named the city in honor of President Washington. The federal district was named Columbia (a feminine form of "Columbus"), which was a poetic name for the United States commonly in use at that time.