When did seat belts become mandatory in cars?

The first seat belt law—federal law Title 49 of the United States Code, Chapter 301, Motor Vehicle Safety Standard—took effect in 1968. The law required manufacturers to fit seat belts into vehicles. Yet, the use of seat belts didn't become mandatory until each state established their own laws.