What do elf on the shelves do?

Elf on the Shelf is a Christmas tradition where a special scout is sent to your home from the North Pole to encourage kids to behave themselves. Santa's little helper watches the children by day, and each night it returns to the North Pole to report on whether they were naughty or nice.