Who wrote the book of revelation in the bible?

Tradition holds that the Book of Revelation was written by John of Patmos. The John of Revelation is held by Christian tradition to have been the Apostle John who traveled with Jesus during his earthly ministry.

---

John the Apostle, who also wrote 1st, 2nd, and 3rd John as well as the gospel that bears his name.

---

The author names himself in the text as "John", but his precise identity remains a point of academic debate. Many consider that nothing can be known about the author except that he was a Christian prophet. Some scholars characterise the author as a putative figure whom they call "John of Patmos".