Who is lou and hook?

Antonie van Leeuwenhoek was a Dutch businessman and scientist in the Golden Age of Dutch science and technology. A largely self-taught man in science, he is commonly known as "the Father of Microbiology" and one of the first microscopists and microbiologists.