What is the definition of nutmeg?

nutmeg noun nut·​meg Definition of nutmeg 1: an aromatic seed produced by an evergreen tree (Myristica fragrans of the family Myristicaceae, the nutmeg family) native to the Moluccas also : the ground seed used as a spice — compare MACE sense 2 2: a tree yielding nutmeg