How many planets are there in the universe?

No one actually knows. NASA estimates there are least 100 billion planets in our own Milky Way Galaxy. The Hubble space telescope has revealed about 100 billion individual galaxies. Assuming other galaxies are like our own, there could be over 1 billion trillion planets in our universe.