What does d. c. mean in washington d. c.?

Washington DC is the capital city of the United States of America (USA). "D.C." stands for the "District of Columbia" which is the federal district containing the city of Washington

---

District of Columbia

---

The D. C. in Washington D. C. stands for District of Columbia.