What is the tallest mountain in the forty eight states?

Mt. Whitney is the tallest mountain in the 48 continental United States. Located in the Sierra Nevada Mountains of California, it is 14,505 feet tall. The John Muir Trail climbs to its summit, which is above treeline and is alpine terrain.