How did teddy bears get their name?

After U.S. President Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt refused to kill a bear that was captured in a bear hunting trip in 1902, political cartoons were featured in newspapers across the country starring "Teddy" and "The Bear". Morris Michtom was inspired and invented the Teddy bear as we know it today.