Why do cats have white around their eyes?

Cats have a white area around their eyes because, like humans, the eyeball is filled with an aqueous liquid in which the other eye structures are located. What we usually think of as a cat’s eyes are actually only the colored iris that contracts around the pupil and regulates the entry of light.