What is the origin of the term dixie?

Historians disagree about its origin. Some believe Dixie derives from the Mason-Dixon Line, between Maryland and Pennsylvania. Others believe it originated with ten-dollar bank notes known as “Dixies” in Louisiana. The term was popularized by an 1859 minstrel song, “Dixie” or “Dixie’s Land."