Is edible glitter a thing?

Yes. It is used mostly for desserts but now its showing up in glitter lattés, glitter galaxy bagels, glitter churros, rose gold glitter prosecco, glitter gum, and even rainbow glitter pizza, people are sprinkling their meals with actual glitter in order to make it look more appealing on Instagram.