Does syrup expire?

Maple syrup can go bad, but it's a very rare occurrence. The first thing to look for is signs of spoilage like mold. Maple syrup is not the same as maple flavored syrup which is made of corn syrup. That type of syrup usually has an expiration date on the bottle.