What year did abner doubleday invent baseball?

Although it was claimed that Abner Doubleday invented baseball in 1839, historians now think that is a myth based largely on a letter by Abner Graves, whose veracity is doubtful. Baseball most likely developed as an American variation of the British game of rounders.