Why does lettuce turn pink?

Pink rib is the pink discoloration of the midrib of lettuce caused by exposure to higher temperatures. If you find that the roots of the lettuce or the edges of the leaves are red, the iron in the lettuce is oxidized, indicating that it is not fresh.