What food group is coffee?

The beverage coffee is not in any of the major food groups as defined by the USDA (dairy, vegetables, fruits, grains, proteins, fats/oils) but is in a special group known as “calories for other uses”. Coffee beans, on the other hand, are the seeds of the coffee cherry, which is a fruit.