Who is slenderman?

According to Wikipedia, The Slender Man is a fictional supernatural character that originated as a creepypasta Internet meme created by Something Awful forum user Eric Knudsen, AKA Victor Surge in 2009. He is depicted as a thin, unnaturally tall humanoid with a featureless head, face, & black suit.