Do squirrels carry rabies?

Although squirrels are capable of carrying rabies - they very infrequently do. One of the reasons that smaller animals like squirrels, along with rabbits and small rodents are not frequently seen with rabies is because they are highly unlikely to survive an attack by a rabid animal.