What is the golden buzzer?

The Golden Buzzer is a concept that was introduced in Season 9 of America's Got Talent. Each judge may press their Golden Buzzer only once during the season. In Season 9, the Golden Buzzer sent the act to the next round regardless of the other judges' votes; its main purpose was to break ties.