Which presidents had assassination attempts?

Four presidents have been assassinated: Abraham Lincoln, James A. Garfield, William McKinley, and John F. Kennedy. At least seventeen presidents have had unsuccessful plots against them, including two attempts on Lincoln prior to his assassination on April 14, 1865.