What does the last name bruce mean?

The name Bruce is Scottish and means, "coming from the briarwood thickets."

---

The surname Bruce was first found in Yorkshire where Robert de Bruis was granted 94 manors. His son Robert traveled north with Earl David of Huntingdon who became King of Scotland and was granted large estates in Annandale, Scotland about 1150. It's Scottish for "Coming from the briarwood thickets