Which state is closest to africa?

Surprisingly, the state of Maine is closest to the African continent, about 3,154 miles.

---

Geographically speaking, Maine wins the designation of closest US state to Africa. A small peninsula off the coast of Maine, known as Quoddy Head, is a mere 3,154 miles from El Beddouza