What type of star is the sun?

Our Sun is a GV yellow dwarf, an average sized star that is middle aged. It has lived for 4.3 billion years, and will likely live another 7 billion, then expand into a red giant growing 100x larger. The sun’s surface is 5,000-6,000 degrees Kelvin, and the core is about 27 billion degrees Kelvin.