What is a bear simmer?

When the bear is in the pot and its just bubbling a little. Not a full rolling boil.

---

A bare simmer is when only a few small bubbles appear in different locations on the surface every few seconds. Simmering is done at a low temperature between 180 and 205 degrees F.