Is james madison a founding father?

Yes! Not only is James Madison considered a founding father of the US, he is hailed as "Father of the Constitution" for his pivotal role in drafting and promoting the Constitution of the United States and the United States Bill of Rights. He also co-wrote The Federalist Papers.