When did organized crime start?

Organized crime in the US can be traced back to street gangs in the 1800s. Forty Thieves, a notorious Irish-American group, was prosperous until about 1850. Members left to join other gangs or start rival factions. Mafia organizations began to flourish, especially when prohibition began in 1920.