Why are hiccups called?

Otorhinolaryngology. A hiccup (scientific name "singultus", from a Latin word meaning "to catch one's breath while sobbing"; [1] also spelled hiccough) is an involuntary contraction ( myoclonic jerk) of the diaphragm that may repeat several times per minute.