Who were the beverly hillbillies?

The Beverly Hillbillies was a sitcom on CBS from 1962 to 1971. It featured Buddy Ebsen, Irene Ryan, Donna Douglas, and Max Baer Jr. as the Clampetts, a poor, backwoods family from the hills of the Ozarks, who move to posh Beverly Hills, California, after striking oil on their land.