Who invented the very first light bulb?

British chemist Humphrey Davy is credited with inventing the arc lamp in 1809. James Bowman Lindsay demonstrated a constant electric light in Scotland in 1835. In 1850, the Geissler tube was invented in Germany. And Thomas Edison patented a practical, long-lasting bulb in 1880.