Why do old people have gray hair?

As people age, the cells at the base of the hair follicle slow down and eventually stop producing pigments that color hair. The medical term is achromotrichia and starts when people are in their 30's, some sooner and others later. Without pigments, light reflecting off hair appears gray or white.